Thursday, August 1, 2013

Summer Sermon Series: The Apostles

During his earthly ministry Jesus identified twelve key men who would be recognized as first among his followers.  From Matthew 10:1-4:
Then Jesus summoned his twelve disciples and gave them authority over unclean spirits, to cast them out, and to cure every disease and every sickness.  These are the names of the twelve apostles: first, Simon, also known as Peter, and his brother Andrew; James, son of Zebedee and his brother John; Philip and Bartholomew; Thomas and Matthew the tax collector; James son of Alphaeus, and Thaddaeus; Simon the Cananaean and Judas Iscariot, the one who betrayed him.
Others would also emerge as leaders, both during Jesus' earthly ministry and in the early Christian community: Mary Madgaline; Mary and Martha, the sisters of Lazarus; Matthias, who was chosen to replace Judas; Stephen, the first deacon; James, the brother of Jesus; and Paul.

This summer we're doing a sermon series on the Apostles: who they were, what happened to them and what lessons we can draw from their lives today.  Click on the links below to read the sermons.

July 7: Judas
July 14: Peter
July 21:Matthew
July 28: Andrew
August 4: James, James & James
August 21: Mary Magdalene (A version of the August 25 sermon preached at The Bowery Mission chapel)
August 25: Mary Magdalene
September 1: Paul